Buhari sends 6 names to Senate for confirmation as INEC commissioners


PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari, yesterday, sent six names to the Senate for screening and confirmation as national commissioners of Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

The President also sent names of five persons for screening and subsequent confirmation as national commissioners of National Population Commission, NPC.

Buhari in two separate letters to the Senate, which were read at plenary by the Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, said his appointment of national commissioners for both INEC and NPC was in accordance with the provisions of Section 154(1)   of the 1999 Constitution   (as amended).

The names of the INEC national commissioner nominees were given as Prof. Okechukwu Obinna Ibeanu,  Anambra State; May I. Agbamuche-Mbu, Delta State; AVM Ahmed Tijani Mu’Azu, Gombe State; Mohammed Kudu Haruna, Niger State; Dr Adekunle Ladipo Ogunmola, Oyo State; and Abubakar Ahmed Nahuche, Zamfara State.

Those nominated for NPC include; Engr. Benedict Ukpong, Akwa Ibom State; Gloria Fateya Izonfuo, Bayelsa State; Barr. Kupchi Patricia Ori Iyanya, Benue State; Dr Haliru Bala, Kebbi State; and Dr Eyitayo Oyetunji, Oyo State.

In the letters, Buhari thanked the Senate in anticipation of the early consideration and confirmation of the nominees.

Don't be selfish...Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Email this to someonePrint this page
download download music music audio audio mp3 mp3 video video song song album album mp4 mp4 download download music music audio album album audio mp3 mp3 video video


facebook comments:

Leave a Reply